2019 awards results

Thanks to everyone who attended the club awards last weekend, it was great to see you all and to celebrate the achievements of our riders! A massive thanks to Ed and Pete for organising the event and to the army of volunteers who assisted and helped to make everything run so smoothly. The full set of results are below and you can also view the presentation photos. Well done to all riders for a really successful year!

Club Circuit Championship Awards

PPYCC Club Championships were held at Preston Park on 28 September 2019. Pictures of the racing are available in the website gallery section.

U8 Boys

  • 1st Place – Harley Clarke
  • 2nd Place – Charlie Bunting
  • 3rd Place – Cooper Aberdour

U10 Boys  

  • 1st Place – Raphael Kelly
  • 2nd Place – Alex Goodwill
  • 3rd Place – Aaron Baynes

U10 Girls

  • 1st Place – Rosie Camps
  • 2nd Place – Megan Costello

U12 Boys

  • 1st Place – Seb Boulton
  • 2nd Place – Ben Tamplin 
  • 3rd Place – Luca Gasco

U12 Girls

  • 1st Place – Idha Hicks
  • 2nd Place – Elsie Mitchell
  • 3rd Place – Kata Kovacs

U14 Boys

  • 1st Place – Luke Goodwill
  • 2nd Place – Alfie Bunyan
  • 3rd Place – Louis Boulton

U14 Girls

  • 1st Place – Lili Kovacs

U16 Boys

  • 1st Place – Dylan Hick
  • 2nd Place – Jacob James

National performance trophies

GHS National Time Trial Championship

George Herbert Stancer National Youth Championships are organised by Cycling Time Trials (CTT) with the aim of promoting and encouraging time trialling participation amongst youth riders.

Winner: Club Qualifier Josh Ballinger

BSCA Best National Hill Climb Performance

British Schools Cycling Association (BSCA) holds regional and national competitions to provide opportunities for youth riders. 

No prize this year – no participants

British Cycling Points Award

British Cycling Points Award is for the most national points gained in BC races for the LAST full season, given that the current season is still underway. Eligible riders are U14 and U16 only. (BC do not allow younger riders to qualify for national points as the emphasis for U8, U10 and U12 is on having fun and developing skills rather than on training and competition.)

Winner: Luke Goodwill (137 points)

Best Regional Cyclo-Cross Performance

For the most regional points gained in BC races for the LAST full season, given that the current season is still underway.

Winner: Freddie Newman (145 points)

Best Track League Performance Awards

These are for the Sussex Cycle Racing League held at Preston Park. These riders may have received separate SCRL awards for their league standings but we also celebrate the best performances from within the club.

  • Youth Minor Male – Edwin Boyle
  • Youth Minor Female – Idha Hicks
  • Youth Major Male – Alfie Bunyan
  • Youth Major Female – Lili Kovacs
  • Senior B Male – Dylan Hicks
  • Senior A Male – Lukas Neurarkar

Club & Coaching Awards

Most Improved Rider Award

Most Improved Rider awards are taken from the distance challenges we run at Saturday morning sessions. A rider needs to have completed at least 2 distance challenges within the current season and the percentage improvements from those results are used to select the award winners.

  • Outer Ring Male – Archie Double
  • Outer Ring Female – Lili Kovacs
  • Inner Ring Male – Charlie Bunting
  • Inner Ring Female – Kata Kovacs

Coaches Award

Coaches Award is for the rider demonstrating commitment and contribution to to the club over the season.

Winner: Dylan Hicks

Club Rider Award

This award is for those who consistently exemplify the best behaviours during coached sessions throughout the season – willingness to learn and develop, giving their best at all times, listening well and role modelling good behaviour.

  • Outer Ring male – Noah Wheller
  • Outer Ring female – Lili Kovacs
  • Inner Ring male – Ingo Wilcox
  • Inner Ring female – Rosie Camps

Best Club Performance

Best Club Performance reflects the coaching teams opinion on the best performance by an individual rider in the current season.

Winner: Bill Balding (for the South Downs Way double)

Club Order of Merit

Club Order of Merit reflects the coaching teams opinion on the most notable achievement of an individual rider in the current season.

Winner: Freddie Newman (for becoming a member of the GB Cycling Team Apprentice Programme).