Preston Park YCC Circuit Championships report by Joe Bishop

Whilst the Tour of Lombardy was gong on, there was a much more important race, taking place in Gravesend, Kent: The PPYCC Circuit Championships! We got to race on the Cyclopark circuit, which is purpose built for road cycling, and the standard of racing was superb. It is clear that this season all of the club members have progressed greatly in terms of riding ability and skill, and that is also evident in the club training sessions and the Sunday Group Rides.

Full results are here: PPYCC CLUB CHAMPS RESULTS


Under 8s and 10s

Our Under 8 Champion is Ben Tamplin and in the Under 10s Luke Goodwill won after breaking away alone shortly after the race start. We are disappointed that none of our Girl members took part in these two races.

Under 12s

Lukas Nerurkar won the under 12 boys race, beating fellow PPYCC members Rahul Fortescue-Talwar and Freddie Newman in the final sprint, and that was the order of the podium. Matilda Wicks took a confident first place in the Under 12s Girls.

Under 14s and 16s

Next came the under 14s and 16s, who had to race together to make for more exciting racing.The race was fast and furious right from the gun, with an early attack from PPYCC member Isaac Wright (u16), which only George Sloan (VC Jubilee under 14) could follow. The chase was on, and the relentless pace took its toll, leaving only a select group of eight being left to chase. This group included only two under 16s, one of which was Joe Bishop (me!). I decided to sit at the back and let the others work; I knew it would be pointless trying to bring back Isaac, and George was none of my concern, as he was not in my age category. This all changed however, when another under 16 Cameron Cragg attacked. Lukas Nerurkar, who was racing up, came back and asked me to work, and I complied, managing to keep Cameron and George – whom he had caught – at a catchable distance. The group finally caught the two riders on the bell for the last lap – it was all back together for a sprint! George won the sprint for the under 14s, with Jojo Martin (PPYCC) taking second and becoming the PPYCC Circuit Champion in this category, with Finn Anderson (PPYCC) finishing third. I won the sprint for second in the under 16 category, whilst Isaac Wright comfortably took the win, and Cameron (PPYCC) took third. Amelia Roberts was a clear winner in the Under 14 girls race after main opposition Imogen Gifford had to take a lap out due to a mechanical problem.

The races were great fun to take part in, and I can’t wait to go back next year. A big thank you is in order for all of the Race Commissaires and marshals. A special thank you is also reserved for Kim and Paul, who managed to organise a fantastic days racing.