2023 AGM and Awards results

Thanks very much to everyone who attended the AGM and Awards on the weekend, it was lovely to see everyone and to have a chance to celebrate our riders achievements over the past season.

A big thankyou to all our presenters for making it such a fun event, our volunteers for helping it to run smoothly, all of the cake makers, and to ex-PPYCC and Team DSM rider Dylan Hicks who presented the awards and also very kindly brought along a large amount of Team DSM kit which was rapidly descended upon by hordes of aspiring young riders! We also had very generous prizes provided by True Wheels and Powerwatts cycle coaching studio.

A huge well done to all of our award winners. Our 2023 club champions received their engraved medals and shields, these riders are all now listed on the Club Champions page.

The remaining performance and coaches awards are all listed below, well done to everyone!

For those award winners who were unable to attend the presentations, we will find a way to get it to you in the weeks ahead and will be in touch soon.

Photos from the day have been uploaded to the club’s Google Drive and the link shared on the club members WhatsApp group, please contact us if you need access.

The Committee page has also been updated with the committee details for the year ahead. There was only one change this year, with Richard Scarott standing down as Treasurer and handing over to Kevin Phillips. A huge thanks to Richard who brought a great deal of financial expertise to the role and really helped us to get fit for the future in terms of our accounting practices. All of the other committee roles were re-elected, so welcome back to Andy, Mark, Daisy, Claire and Jessamy – thankyou everyone for your continued support.

Finally, a heartfelt thank you to Rex Matthews who retires from coaching this year after many years with PPYCC. We presented Rex with a club jersey signed by the coaching team. Rex, we look forward to seeing you down the track as a spectator in the years ahead, or bumping into you out riding in the Sussex lanes!

2023 award results

National performance trophies

British Cycling Points Award – Eddie Boyle (U16 – 19 points)
Best National Omnium Performance – Eddie Boyle (U16 – the only PPYCC rider to reach the finals)
Best Regional Cyclo-cross Performance (22/23) – Luke Spicer (U10 – 193 points in London and South East CX League)
BSCA Best National Hill Climb Performance – Raphael Vesey Holt (U11, 2nd place)
GHS National TT Championships – Noah Wheller (5th place, Juveniles with 22.15 over 10 Miles)

Club Performance of the Year

1st Place – Charles Bunting U12 (1st place at European Junior Youth Tour, Assen)
2nd Place – Noah Wheller U16 (5th place at National TT Finals)
3rd Place – Ben Tamplin U16 (for ‘riding up’ in Senior A’s at SCRL track league and winning the league overall)

Club & Coaching Awards

Most Improved Rider (Male) – Charlie Hutchins U10
Most Improved Rider (Female) – Bibi Hibberd U8
Coaches Award – Ingo Wilcox U14
Contribution Award – Idha Hicks U16
Club Rider Award (Outer Ring Male) – Luca Geddes Gasco U16
Club Rider Award (Outer Ring Female) – Megan Costello U14
Club Rider Award (Inner Ring Male) – Charlie Hutchins U10
Club Rider Award (Inner Ring Female) – Heather Skinner U12
Club Order of Merit – Charles Bunting U12

Best Track League Performance

Youth Minor (Male) – Luke Spicer U10
Youth Minor (Female) – Eliza Hibberd U10
Youth Major (Male) – Charles Bunting U12
Youth Major (Female) – Megan Costello U14
Senior B (Male) – Milo Clarke U16
Senior B (Female) – Idha Hicks U16
Senior A – Ben Tamplin U16